Paul is a Lecturer and Research Councils UK Academic Fellow in the Departments of Physics (Condensed Matter Theory Group) and Materials at Imperial College London. He is closely associated with the Thomas Young Centre for the Theory and Simulation of Materials.

Ph.D. studentships are now available in Condensed Matter Theory (Department of Physics) and the Department of Materials.

Department of Materials
Imperial College London
Exhibition Road
London, SW7 2AZ
United Kingdom
+44 (0)20 7594 8155


BSc, Physics, University College Cork, 1996.
MSc, Physics, University College Cork, 1998.
PhD (cum laude), Condensed Matter Theory, SISSA, 2002.
Visiting Graduate Student, Chemistry, Princeton University, 2001-2002.

Previous Positions:

Visiting Scholar, Physics Department, UC Berkeley, 2002-2007.
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Molecular Foundry,
Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, 2004-2007.
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Materials Sciences Division,
Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, 2002-2004.
Visiting Technical Staff, Princeton University, 2001.

Selected papers:

  • "Giant Wave-drag enhancement of friction in sliding carbon nanotubes." P. Tangney, M. L. Cohen, and S.G. Louie, Phys. Rev. Lett., 97, 195901 (2006).
  • "On the theory underlying the Car-Parrinello method and the role of the fictitious mass parameter." P. Tangney, J. Chem. Phys., 124, 044111 (2006).
  • "Structural transformations of carbon nanotubes under hydrostatic pressure." P. Tangney, R. B. Capaz, C. D. Spataru, M. L. Cohen, and S. G. Louie, Nano Lett., 5, 2268 (2005).
  • "A many-body interatomic potential for ionic systems: application to MgO." P. Tangney and S. Scandolo, J. Chem. Phys, 119, 9673 (2003).
  • "Density-functional theory approach to ultrafast laser excitation of semiconductors: Application to the A1 phonon in tellurium." P. Tangney and S. Fahy, Phys. Rev. B, 65, 054302 (2002).
  • Current group members:

    Mr Jawad Alsaei PhD student (Physics Dept.)
    Mr Dave Edmunds, PhD student (Physics Dept.)
    Mr Joe Fallon, PhD student (Physics Dept.)
    Dr Hannes Guhl, Postdoctoral Researcher (Physics Dept.)
    Dr Haksung Lee, Postdoctoral Researcher (Materials Dept.)
    Ms Joanne Sarsam, PhD student (Materials Dept.)
    Mr Xin Yang, PhD student (Materials Dept.)